Thrive Knowledge Base

How to Create and Publish a Thrive Apprentice Lesson

In Thrive Apprentice, a course is formed by one or more lessons that can be organized in chapters and/or modules. This way, the next step after you have created a Thrive Apprentice course, is to add one or more lessons to that course.

If you haven't created any courses yet, don't hesitate to check out our article about how to create your first Thrive Apprentice course.

So, after your course is created and saved, you can find it in the Apprentice Dashboard:

As you can see, there is a red circle in the top right corner, which indicates that the course is not published. When you will publish at least one lesson in this course, then you will be able to publish the entire course.

Note: If a lesson is published, but the course isn't, it doesn't mean that the lesson will be visible to your users. In order for a lesson to be visible to your users, both the lesson and the course need to be published.

How to Add a New Lesson to a Course

The first thing you need to do in order to add a new lesson is to access the course. In your Apprentice Dashboard, click on the course you want to add the lesson to:

Note: After you create a course, you will be taken directly to adding a content to it. So, if you haven't closed the setup for the course yet, you will not need to access it again. This is because you will already be on the right page, the "Content" page, where you can add the lessons from.

This is the "Content" page that will be opened when you access your course:

As you can see, there are three tabs, “Content”, “Course Details” and “Access Restrictions” on the middle part of the page. You can use these to edit the course’s topic, author or set the difficulty level for it:

The “Content” tab is where you can add content to the course, the “Course Details” tab allows you to change the course description, cover photo, etc., and, lastly, the “Access Restrictions” tab can be used in order to make the course available only for certain users.

You will find a blue plus sign in the middle of the page. Click on it to add new content:

A pop-up will open and you will have to choose the type of content you want to add in your course. We will focus on lessons, but you are welcome to check out these articles we have about chapters and modules as well.

Click on “+Add Lesson” to get started:

The "Add Lesson" pop-up will open.

Now, there are three main lesson types: Text Lesson, Audio Lesson and Video Lesson. You can choose each one of these from the drop down menu next to the "Lesson Title" field:

Choose what type of lesson you want to create. Here is how to configure each lesson type:

Text Lesson

First thing’s first, assign a title to your lesson by filling in the “Lesson Title” field:

After you’ve entered a suitable title, write a description:

Next, decide whether the users can comment on the lesson by opening the drop down from the "Allow users comment on this lesson" section:

Once you've given the lesson a title and a description you will get to the unique features of a Thrive Apprentice Lesson. More exactly, you can upload a cover image:

If you go for the cover image option, you SHOULD upload an image that comes as close as possible to the dimensions that the course cover image has, which is: 1170 x 400 pixels.

When you’re done, make sure you save everything using the green “Save” button from the bottom right corner:

Audio Lesson

Similar to creating a text lesson, start by giving the lesson a title, as well as a description and choose if you want to allow users to comment on the lesson or not:

Next, from the drop down menu choose which platform you are uploading the audio from. There are two options for this: you can upload an audio file via SoundCloud or you can use a custom code.

SoundCloud

If you choose this option from the drop down menu, what you have to do is to paste the URL code into the URL field:

You can obtain that by going to your SoundCloud audio file, click on the "Share" icon and copy the URL.

When you’re done, make sure you save everything using the green “Save” button from the bottom right corner.

Custom

Choosing this option from the drop down menu, you will have to paste the Embed Code into the dedicated field:

Video Lesson

Just like in the other two cases described above, start by giving the lesson a title, as well as a proper description and enable or disable the comments:

Next, from the drop down menu choose which platform you are uploading the video from.

YouTube, Vimeo and Wistia

If you choose any of these three platforms (YouTube, Vimeo or Wistia), you will have to paste the URL of your video inside the dedicated field:

Keep in mind: when you choose the YouTube platform, some extra options will appear below the URL field. This is what they are for:

  • Optimize related videos: if you choose this option, the related videos will show at the end of the video that you’ve inserted as the lesson.
  • Auto-hide YouTube Logo: if you choose this option, the “YouTube” logo from the video will not be visible anymore
  • Auto-hide Player Controls: if you choose this option, the play controls such as volume, play/pause will not be visible
  • Autoplay: if you choose this option, the video will automatically start playing when entering the lesson
  • Hide Full-Screen Button: if you choose this option, the Full-Screen button will not be shown.

Use these additional options to customize the YouTube video as you wish. Once you’re done, don’t forget to save everything.

Custom

Just like in the Audio Lesson case, if you choose the "Custom" option from the drop down menu, you have to paste the Custom Embed Code in the dedicated field:

Save everything.

Once you’ve created the lessons you want, you will be able to see a list of all your lessons:

When you hover over a lesson, three options will appear. You can edit a lesson’s summary, add content to it or publish it:

Edit the Summary of a Lesson

The “Edit Summary” option will open the same pop-up where you previously entered the title, description and everything else. You can edit all the elements from there:

Add Content to a Lesson

The next option is the “Add Content” one. This will open the lesson in the editor mode:

This editor mode is just like the Thrive Architect editor. If you have purchased and used the Thrive Architect editor before, adding content to your lesson here will be easy for you, because the interface of the editor is identical to that of Thrive Architect.

If you are not familiar with Thrive Architect, you should know that the interface is a drag and drop one. To add a new element to the lesson, you just have to click on the plus sign from the right sidebar, choose the element and drag and drop in on your editor:

If you need to know more about various elements you can add to your lesson, please take a look at our Knowledge Base.

Once you are done adding content to your lesson, make sure to save your work using the "Save Work" button from the bottom left part of the editor.

How to Publish a Lesson

To publish a lesson, simply click on the "Publish Lesson" option next to the "Add Content" one:

After your lesson is published, you can go ahead and publish your course, as well, by clicking on the green "Publish" button:

Keep in mind: in order to publish a course, you need to have at least one lesson published inside that course. However, a published lesson in an unpublished course will not be visible on the live site, it just means that it is completed and no extra modifications are needed.

Important! - If a course is published, it will be visible to your users, on the live site. This ​is why, you should NOT publish the course unless it is ready to be displayed on the site!

If you want to see how the course looks like, you can simply click on the "Preview Course" option:

Also, you can access Settings > Template Settings for more customization options for the course. To find out more about that, check out our article on how to customize your Thrive Apprentice template.

If you found this article useful, don't forget to rate us with a smile below! :)

>