Thrive Knowledge Base

How to Manage Post Templates

The default “Post Template”, as well as the other “Post Templates”, that you add to your Thrive Theme Builder dashboard can easily be managed, in the sense that you can preview, delete, rename or reset them anytime, directly from that dashboard. Here is how:

Access the Thrive Theme Builder dashboard

First, go to your WordPress admin dashboard, hover over the “Thrive Dashboard” item, from the left-side menu, and click on “Thrive Theme Builder” to select it, from the sub-menu that opened:

This will open your Thrive Theme Builder dashboard. This has four sections on the left side: the "Site Wizard", the "Branding", the "Typography" and the "Templates" section. 

Open the Templates section

The "Templates" section contains every template that you have, so that is where you can manage them from. Thus, click on the "Templates" section from the left side of the Thrive Theme Builder dashboard to open it:

Use the Template Managing Options

Once the "Templates" section is opened, you will see each of your templates. Next, you have to click on the “More” option (three dots icon) of the “Post Template” that you want to manage. You will find it in the lower right side of the template:

This will open a little pop-up with the managing options:

You can click on either of these options to use them as follows:

Preview

If you click on the “Preview” option, the preview of the “Post Template” will open in a new tab, so you can see how the “Post Template” will look like for the visitors of the post you will apply it to.

Default

If the “Post Template” you are managing right now is the default one, then the “Default” option here will be grayed out and there will be a check-mark next to it, signaling that this is the default “Post Template" already:

However, if you are managing a “Post Template” other than the default one, then the “Default” option will be available and it will not have the check-mark. Therefore, if you want the respective “Post Template” to become the default one, all you have to do is to click on this “Default” option:

Rename

This option allows you to rename the “Post Template” you are currently managing. In order to do that, click on the “Rename” option:

This will make the field with the name of the template become editable:

You can simply delete the name your template has at the moment and write/paste in the new name you want to give to it.

Delete

If you do not have a use for the “Post Template” anymore, and you want to delete it, click on the “Delete” option from the managing options in the pop-up:

A pop-up window will open, asking you to confirm that you indeed want to delete the “Post Template”. If you are sure that you want to delete the template, click on the “Delete Template” button from the pop-up window and the “Post Template” will be deleted:

Reset

With the “Reset” option you can reset the “Post Template”, meaning that you can reset every customization you have made on the template. If you use this option, the template will return to its default, original form; the same one it had initially, or when you have added it to the dashboard.

If this is what you want to do, then click on the “Reset” option here:

Then, just like in the case of the “Delete” option, a pop-up window will appear asking you to confirm that resetting the “Post Template” is what you really want to do.

If you indeed want to reset the “Post Template”, losing every customization you have made on it and start editing/customizing it again, then click on the “Reset Template” button from the pop-up window:

This is how easily you can use the managing options of “Post Templates”. If you want to find out more about Thrive Theme Builder features, options or elements, check out our knowledge base here.

Hopefully, this article was useful for you. If so, please give it a smile below :)

>