Thrive Knowledge Base

How to Use the Comment Moderation Feature

The Comment Moderation feature allows you to change the way the comments are moderated. You can choose which user roles from your website can moderate comments. 

The feature can be accessed straight from the Thrive Comments Dashboard: 

User Roles 

We'll start from the top: You can specify the user roles that can moderate comments, by clicking on the checkbox: 

By default, the plugin will add the roles set up in WordPress. However, if you have set up additional roles via a membership plugin, those roles will be automatically added here, as well.

Moving forward, you have the option to exclude comments from the moderators from the Moderation Dashboard: 

In this way, the Moderation Dashboard will only display comments from the visitors that cannot moderate comments. 

Before a Comment Appears

In this section, you can choose if you want the comments to be manually approved by the moderators of your site before they are actually displayed on the pages from your website: 

If the option is disabled, the comment will be automatically displayed after it has been submitted by the user. 

Also, you can choose to display a comment only if the comment author has a previously approved comment: 

Moving forward, you have the option to withhold a comment if it contains a certain number of links - A common characteristic of comment spam is a large number of links: 

Below, you have two more fields, which can be used to hold comments into the moderation queue, or put straight in the trash, if they contain certain words. 

You can type in all these words in the two fields, so that the plugin knows what to look for: 

All of the comments that will contain more links than the specified number or any of the words that you have mentioned, will be then found in the Moderation Dashboard - In the "Pending" section or in the "Trash" section. 

Hope you found this article useful! If so, don't forget to rate it, below.

>