Thrive Knowledge Base

How to Use the User Access Manager

With the help of the “User Access Manager” you have the possibility to control who on your team, has access to the Thrive products that are installed on your WordPress website.

If you use this new feature, you can select who to give access to, based on the WordPress user roles that they have on your website.

Note: The “User Access Manager” feature is only available for “Administrators” and “Super-Administrators” of a website.

Follow the steps below to learn how to use this feature:

Open the “User Access Manager”

The first step is to access the feature. In order to do that, go to your WordPress admin dashboard and click on the “Thrive Dashboard” from the left-side menu:

Then scroll down a bit, until you see the “User Access Manager” card and click on the “Manage Access” button from it, to open it:

Review the current access settings

Once you have opened the “User Access Manager”, you will see a list with every Thrive product that is active on your website.

In case you have a product that you had purchased, but have not installed on the website yet, then, that particular product will not be displayed here yet. In order for the Thrive products to be displayed in the  “User Access Manager”, they first need to be installed (therefore active) on your website.

Next to the products, there will be various columns based on the user roles that are set on your website:

Tips:
If you click on any of the user roles, the WordPress user page associated to that respective user role will open in a new tab.

Also, keep in mind that the user roles that are displayed in the “User Access Manager” are based on the roles that are set up in your WordPress website.

There are default roles that come from WordPress (such as “Administrator”, “Editor” etc.), but also, based on the plugins you have, other various user roles that are set up, might also be displayed. For e.g. if you have WooCommerce installed on your site, the “Shop Manager” user role will also be displayed here.

It is also worth noting that the custom roles, that come with membership plugins, will only show up in the “User Access Manager”, if they have the "edit_posts" capability set up.

Moreover, you will see three types of check signs:

  • 1. The first check sign will be displayed for the administrator of the website and it is applied only for the Thrive Dashboard Settings. This represents the fact that the administrator (or the "Super-administrator") will always have access to the Thrive Dashboard Settings and this cannot be modified.
  • 2. The second check sign, the green one, equals access. This means that the respective user role (for which the green check sign is displayed), has access to the specific Thrive product(s) the sign is in line with.
    Thus, the people who have that user role on your website will be able to use the specific Thrive product, when managing/editing your website.

  • 3. The third check sign, the one that is grayed out, equals the access restriction/no access. This means that the user role (for which the grayed out check sign is displayed) does not have access/permission to use the Thrive product(s) the sign is in line with.
    Therefore, the people who have that user role, cannot use the respective Thrive product when managing/editing your website.

Note: There is one user role that will not be shown in the “User Access Manager”. This is the “Subscriber” role.
The reason why this is not displayed is that subscribers, in general, should not have access to edit your website/use the Thrive products. They should only be able to view the website after they subscribed to it.

Modify access settings

If, at any time, you deem it necessary to change the current access settings/permissions that the users of your website have for the Thrive products, then, simply do the following:

  • If you want to give access to a user role for one of the products, make sure to click on the grayed out check sign that belongs to it and is in line with the respective Thrive product. This will transform the check sign into a green one, meaning that the users with that role will have access to the Thrive product.
  • If you do not want one of the user roles to have access to a certain product anymore, then simply click on the green check sign that belongs to it and is in line with the product. This way, the users with that role will not have access to that particular Thrive product anymore.

If you want to learn even more about the “User Access Manager”, then, check out this blog post.

Hopefully, this article was useful for you. If so, please give it a smile below :)

>