Thrive Knowledge Base

Thrive Ultimatum – Open Campaign vs. Lockdown Campaign

When editing a Thrive Ultimatum campaign, you may notice an "Open Campaign" card on the right, providing you the "ACTIVATE LOCKDOWN" option.

A lockdown campaign is one whose promotion page can be accessed only by recognized visitors or one whose access to the promotion page is restricted outside of the campaign duration. This can be useful when you set up a sales page, but you don't want anyone to be able to access it before your campaign starts or you want to set up an offer that's available to subscribers exclusively.

​How to set up a Lockdown Campaign for a Fixed Dates Campaign 

In the campaign settings, choose the absolute dates option, then set up your campaign by following the steps in this article (link to absolute)

Click the "ACTIVATE LOCKDOWN" button. In the next step you can choose the 3 pages that can be defined in a lockdown campaign.

Pre-access page: this is what visitors see of the campaign has not yet started for them.

Promotion page: this is the page that is only available during the campaign.

Expired page: this is what visitors see once their countdown expires.

​How to set up a Lockdown Campaign for a Recurring Campaign

You will need to set up your recurring campaign as described in this article and then the procedure is the same as above.

Click the "ACTIVATE LOCKDOWN" button. In the next step you will be able to define the pre-access page, the promotion page and the expired page.

How to set up a Lockdown Campaign for an Evergreen Campaign

In the first 2 cases, access to the promotion page is allowed within the time interval when the campaign is active. Evergreen campaigns are triggered by user actions, technically they're always active, so the use case is different here.

With Evergreen campaigns the purpose of the lockdown feature is to allow only recognized users to access the promotion page.​

The first step is to activate the lockdown when setting up the campaign.

Click Edit to open the campaign settings

Choose the Evergreen Campaign type

Activate Lockdown

Once you set the Activate Lockdown option to "yes" you will need to choose the campaign trigger.

In open campaigns you can choose the trigger to be a Thrive Leads conversion (if you have Thrive Leads installed), the first visit to the site, or a visit to a specific page.

The options for a lockdown campaign are either Thrive Leads conversion or a visit to the promotion page using the generated URL (it will be set up in the next step).

After you chose the trigger and clicked "SAVE", you can edit the Lockdown Campaign card.

You need to set up the pre-access, promotion and expired pages like in the other campaign types, but their role are a bit different now.

The goal here is to give access to the promotion page only to recognized users.​

For example, if you want to run a promotion where you offer a product at a discounted price, which should only be available to your current subscribers, this feature will be useful. It allows you to send them an email with a generated URL that tags them so they get access to the page. Anyone else would be restricted from accessing it.

Pre-access page: this is what visitors see if the campaign has not yet started for them.

Promotion page: this is the page that is only available during the campaign.

Expired page: this is what visitors see once their countdown expires.

After you set up the 3 pages, you will notice the Generate email link option. This option is the way the plugin will know who should have access to the promotion page. You generate a URL that you send to your current subscribers.

If you choose Mailchimp, Thrive Ultimatum will generate a URL that looks like this:

http://yourdomain.com/your-promotion-page/?tu_id=370&tu_em=*|EMAIL|*

You can then paste it into an email that you send to your subscribers. If someone clicks on the link, the campaign will trigger for them and they get access to the promotion page.

If someone else (non-recognized user) lands on the promotion page (maybe a subscriber gave them a direct link to yourdomain.com/your-promotion-page/) they will be redirected to the pre-access page.

If a recognized user (someone who clicked on the link they received through email) wants to access the promotion page after the campaign has ended, they will be redirected to the access expired page.

Example of an Evergreen lockdown campaign

I am selling a software solution, and I want to give my existing subscribers a discount that's available to them for 3 days once they accessed the promotion page; but I want to be sure that only they can access it.

1. Set up my discount sales page at domain.com/sales-page.

2. Set up the pre-access page at domain.com/pre-access. This will contain an opt-in form, so those who cannot access this promotion have a way to sign up so they can receive future offers.

3. Set up the expired page at domain.com/expired.​

4. Create an Evergreen campaign, activate the lockdown and choose its trigger to be "Visit the promotion page".

5. In Display Settings choose to show the campaign on all pages of the site.

6. Create a top ribbon to be displayed.​

7. Edit the lockdown campaign, assign the 3 pages and generate the URL I'll be sending to my subscribers.

When user A opens my email and clicks on the link, they will land on my promotion page, and they will also trigger the campaign. From then on, if they navigate away from the promotion page, they will see the top ribbon on other pages, reminding them about the offer.

If user B is not a subscriber but somehow they got a direct link to domain.com/sales-page and they want to grab the product for the discounted price, when try to reach this page, they will be redirected to the pre-access page. They won't be able to get the discount, but they can opt-in to future offers.

If user C, who is a subscriber clicks on the link in the email they received a month after the campaign ended, they will be redirected to domain.com/expired.

>